2016 Fellows

Alicia L. Carriquiry, Iowa State University: For outstanding scholarship in science, leadership across a diverse collection of professional societies, and bringing distinguished statistical insights to scientific advisory committees and panels.

Michael R. Kosorok, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: For distinguished contributions to biostatistics, in survival analysis, empirical processes and semiparametric models, statistical learning theory and personalized medicine, and for extraordinary administrative service.

George Ostrouchov, Oak Ridge National Laboratory: For distinguished leadership in the field of statistical computing, particularly to enable parallel computation on big data with statistical software, and for service to profession.

Jane F. Pendergast, Duke University Medical Center: For advancing statistics within public health and for skilled, creative and dedicated service to the profession, including effectively advocating for improved recognition of AAAS Sections.

Dale L. Preston, HiroSoft International Corporation: For distinguished contributions to statistical modeling of disease risk in epidemiological studies and to understanding the consequences of acute and chronic exposure to ionizing radiation.

Francisco J. Samaniego, University of California, Davis: For distinguished research in reliability theory and comparative statistical inference, for award-winning teaching and dedicated service as editor of JASA, and for other contributions to the profession.

Yu Shyr, Vanderbilt University Medical Center: For distinguished contributions in integrative methods development for biostatistics and bioinformatics and high impact applications of these methods for discovery in cancer biology.

Hal S. Stern, University of California, Irvine: For high-impact contributions to statistical methodology and important applications, for development and application of Bayesian methods, and for high-leverage national service and university administration.

Anastasios A. Tsiatis, North Carolina State University: For distinguished contributions to survival analysis, statistical methods for clinical trials, causal inference and the broad fields of semiparametric models and dynamic treatment regimes.

Xiao-Hua (Andrew) Zhou, University of Washington/Peking University (China): For distinguished contributions to the field of biostatistics, particularly in development of new statistical methods in diagnostic medicine and analysis of health care cost data.

Lixing Zhu, Beijing Normal University/Hong Kong Baptist University: For outstanding contributions to statistics and probability, especially dimension-reduction methods, goodness-of-fit testing, Monte Carlo tests, and empirical likelihood, for statistics leadership in China, and for outstanding service to the profession.